Under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia, an owner of a shop, a merchant or an employee at a store has a lawful right to detain you for a period of one hour in case they have a valid reason to believe that you have committed the offense of shoplifting. Shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia institutes this right in such circumstances where there is a possible chance of shoplifting. Once the police will arrive, they will estimate the value of the items that were shoplifted and can arrest you for the charge of grand larceny or petit larceny, based on the value of items you have possibly taken. Under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia, the offense of shoplifting can be charged against a person for taking good that do not belong to him/her or availing services without paying for them. You can be still be charged for the offense of shoplifting even if you may not succeed. Under Va. Code Section “18.2-103”, an individual can also be accused for shoplifting if they are found changing price labels, transferring goods from their respective shelve to another, or facilitating another person in shoplifting. A person who aids in a crime of shoplifting can be penalized with equivalent criminal punishments for the offense of shoplifting under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia
Under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia a charge for shoplifting can be transformed into a petit or simple larceny, which is considered as a misdemeanor. This mean that the conviction for the charge of shoplifting will include a penalty of up to 12 month of incarceration and heavy fines of up to $2500. Under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia, an individual can be charged for the offense of shoplifting if they took, or facilitated to steal, goods of up to a value of $200.00. Subsequent conviction for the similar charge against the offense of petit larceny will result into a minimum jail sentence of one month, irrespective of the fact that, the previous offense was charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. Under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia, subsequent conviction for shoplifting can result in 12 months of jail, even if the offense was committed in any other state. Under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia, a third or further conviction for the offense of shoplifting will be charged as a class 6 felony. If the offense of shoplifting is charged for stealing a firearm, it will be considered a grand larceny, irrespective of the value of the item, the stolen items worth more than $200. The possible punishment of grand larceny under the shoplifting laws in Henrico Virginia, may include a probation of up to 20 years in prison.
If you or your loved one has been charged for an offense of shoplifting in Henrico Virginia, you must consult with an expert criminal lawyer.