If you are concerned about the punishment for a Virginia Class 1 Misdemeanor, then contact our law firm immediately for help.  We have defended many Class 1 Misdemeanors in Virginia and we can help you as well.

We understand how concerned a client can be when facing their first misdemeanor charge in Virginia.  Even a first offense Class 1 Misdemeanor Charge in Virginia is a serious matter because it carries the realistic possibility of jail time, loss of license and a $2500 fine.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Prince William Richmond Loudoun Virginia Beach Fredericksburg Lynchburg.

Contact our law firm today to speak with a lawyer today about the possible punishments for a Virginia Class 1 Misdemeanor.  An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you.

We will do our absolute best to help you get the best result possible based on the facts of your case. Our law firm has the necessary experience to assist you with this matter.

Howell v. Commonwealth

Facts:

Defendant sought review of a decision in the Circuit Court of Henrico (Virginia), which convicted defendant for driving under the influence of intoxicants and relied on two prior convictions for enhancement of his punishment.  The court held that prior un-counseled misdemeanor convictions for driving under the influence of intoxicants could not used to enhance punishment to mandatory imprisonment as a subsequent DUI offender under Va. Code § 18.2-270. Finally, the court held that where a trial court committed error, an appellate court could reverse the judgment on the ground of such error where it affirmatively appeared that the error affected the merits of the case.

If you are facing a criminal case in Virginia, contact a SRIS Law Group lawyer for help.  You can reach us at 888-437-7747

Virginia Punishment For Class 1 Misdemeanor Henrico
Virginia Punishment For Class 1 Misdemeanor Henrico

Holdings:

The Virginia Court made the following holding:
  • Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-270 makes a first DUI offense a Class I misdemeanor. Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-11 provides that upon conviction of a Class I misdemeanor the defendant may be sentenced to confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and fine of not more than $ 1,000. For a second offense committed within five years of the first offense, the defendant shall be punished by a fine of not less than $ 200 nor more than $ 1,000, and a jail sentence of not less than one month nor more than one year; forty-eight hours of the jail sentence may not be suspended. For a third offense within five years, the defendant shall be punished by a fine of not less than $ 500 nor more than $ 1,000, and a jail sentence of not less than two months nor more than one year; thirty days of the jail sentence may not be suspended..

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Prince William Richmond Loudoun Virginia Beach Fredericksburg Lynchburg.

Contact our law firm today to speak with a lawyer today about the possible punishments for a Virginia Class 1 Misdemeanor.  An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you.

We will do our absolute best to help you get the best result possible based on the facts of your case. Our law firm has the necessary experience to assist you with this matter.

Henrico Court House Detail:

Henrico Circuit Court

P. O. Box 90775
4301 East Par Road,
Henrico, VA 23273-0775

Henrico General District Court

P. O. Box 90775
4301 East Par Road,
Henrico, VA 23273-0775

Henrico Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court

4201 E. Par Road,
Henrico, VA 23228-2745
P.O. Box 90775,
Henrico, VA 23273-0775

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.